Bayelsa State

Bayelsa State was created on October 1, 1996 out of the old Rivers State. The name, Bayelsa, is an acronym of three former Local Government areas – Brass, Yenagoa and Sagbama – in the then Rivers State, which had earlier on comprised the entire area now constituting Bayelsa State.

The Bayelsa State Ministry of Health was created alongside other ministries within the State service structure shortly after the State was created.

The ministry is geared towards taking qualitative health care to the doorstep of every citizen and inhabitant of Bayelsa State and making the State the hub of excellent medical services thereby also promoting health tourism

For more information, click here to visit the Bayelsa State Government website.